Insurance laws vary by state, this should come as no surprise as every state in the USA has it’s own unique government and legislation. What might be satisfactory in one state might be illegal in another. For example, liability insurance is not be required by law in New Hampshire. In neighboring Massachusetts, however, the insurance requirements are high and regulation is tight. Because of this, it is very important to understand the auto insurance laws and requirements in your state. Continue reading below to see the insurance minimums in your state and also read why it is important to always meet these requirements.
State Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
The following limits are for bodily injury and death, and property damage. For example, Alaska has 50/100/25 minimum coverage. This means that the state requires a minimum of $50,000 bodily injury/death coverage per person, a minimum of $100,000 bodily injury/death coverage per accident, and finally, a minimum of $25,000 for property damage per accident.
Some of these states have recent changes or stipulations regarding insurance requirements. View what these are at the end of the table.
How to read this chart
|State||Insurance Required||Minimum Limits|
|Alabama||BI & PD Liability||25/50/25|
|Alaska||BI & PD Liability||50/100/25|
|Arizona||BI & PD Liability||15/30/10|
|Arkansas||BI & PD Liability, PIP||25/50/25|
|California||BI & PD Liability||15/30/51|
|Colorado||BI & PD Liability||25/50/15|
|Connecticut||BI & PD Liability, UM, UIM||20/40/10|
|Delaware||BI & PD Liability, PIP||15/30/10|
|District of Columbia||BI & PD Liability, UM||25/50/10|
|Florida||PD Liability, PIP||10/20/102|
|Georgia||BI & PD Liability||25/50/25|
|Hawaii||BI & PD Liability, PIP||20/40/10|
|Idaho||BI & PD Liability||25/50/15|
|Illinois||BI & PD Liability, UM||20/40/15|
|Indiana||BI & PD Liability||25/50/10|
|Iowa||BI & PD Liability||20/40/15|
|Kansas||BI & PD Liability, PIP, UM||25/50/10|
|Kentucky||BI & PD Liability, PIP||25/50/10|
|Louisiana||BI & PD Liability||15/30/25|
|Maine||BI & PD Liability, UM, UIM||50/100/253|
|Maryland||BI & PD Liability, PIP4, UM, UIM||30/60/15|
|Massachusetts||BI & PD Liability, PIP, UM||20/40/5|
|Michigan||BI & PD Liability, PIP||20/40/10|
|Minnesota||BI & PD Liability, PIP, UM,UIM||30/60/10|
|Mississippi||BI & PD Liability||25/50/25|
|Missouri||BI & PD Liability, UM||25/50/10|
|Montana||BI & PD Liability||25/50/10|
|Nebraska||BI & PD Liability||25/50/25|
|Nevada||BI & PD Liability||15/30/10|
|New Hampshire||FR only7, UM||25/50/253|
|New Jersey||BI & PD Liability, PIP, UM, UIM||15/30/55|
|New Mexico||BI & PD Liability||25/50/10|
|New York||BI & PD Liability, PIP, UM||25/50/106|
|North Carolina||BI & PD Liability, UM, UIM||30/60/25|
|North Dakota||BI & PD Liability, PIP, UM, UIM||25/50/25|
|Ohio||BI & PD Liability||12.5/25/7.5|
|Oklahoma||BI & PD Liability||25/50/25|
|Oregon||BI & PD Liability, PIP, UM||25/50/20|
|Pennsylvania||BI & PD Liability, PIP||15/30/5|
|Rhode Island||BI & PD Liability, UM8||25/50/257|
|South Carolina||BI & PD Liability, UM||25/50/25|
|South Dakota||BI & PD Liability, UM||25/50/25|
|Tennessee||BI & PD Liability||25/50/152|
|Texas||BI & PD Liability||30/60/25|
|Utah||BI & PD Liability, PIP||25/65/152|
|Vermont||BI & PD Liability||25/50/10|
|Virginia||BI & PD Liability, UM, UIM||25/50/20|
|Washington||BI & PD Liability||25/50/10|
|West Virginia||BI & PD Liability, UM||20/40/10|
|Wisconsin||BI & PD Liability, UM, UIM||50/100/15|
|Wyoming||BI & PD Liability||25/50/20|
In minimum coverage auto insurance enough?
What happens if you have the state minimum liability requirements, but the accident still causes more damage than you are covered for? For example, if you have $50,000 coverage for bodily injury per accident and three people were injured all requiring $25,000 of medical care each, then what happens? The total for this accident would be $75,000. In this case, the insurance company would pay for the $50,000 you are covered for, but the remaining $25,000 would have to come out of your pocket! If you do not have the $25,000 or do not pay, you could get sued for this amount.
This is why it is important to always have ample liability coverage. Sometimes, the state minimums simply aren’t enough! In fact, the Insurance Information Institute (III) recommends that all drivers in the United States carry at least $100,000 of bodily injury protection per person and $300,000 per accident (100/300).
If you look at the limits in your state (above), you can see how they might not cover all of damages (property and bodily) in an accident. Go back up to the list and look at your state once again. Do you feel comfortable with your state’s minimum auto insurance requirements? If not, you might want to talk to your insurance agent about raising your limits. It does not cost much to raise these car insurance limits, and doing so can save you tons of money in the long run.
To learn more about these state auto insurance laws, visit some of the resources below.
Auto Insurance Laws and Requirements References
- Wikipedia’s Page On Vehicle Insurance In The United States – This page is about as comprehensive as it gets when it comes to insurance requirements.
- FindLaw.com’s State Car Insurance Information – Information on types of coverage required, acceptable proof of insurance, penalties for driving without insurance, etc.