forautoinsurancequotes.com is happy to provide you with an in-depth guide on the auto insurance situation in the state of California. Continue reading below to learn more about the state of California, average insurance rates in the state, the minimum requirements set forth by the DMV, penalties for driving without insurance in California, and the number one method for getting cheap insurance in CA.
The state of California is a favorite for most Americans, as it is the most populated and home to 1 of 8 in the United States. It is also the third largest in area and coastline length. California is home to major cities such as Los Angeles, San Francisco, San Diego; but it is also home to unique areas like the Redwood Forest, Fresno wine country, and Silicon Valley. Even with the variety of environmental hazards such as earthquakes, it is still a beautiful state to live and drive in. All areas are unique in there own ways and have their pros and cons in terms of transportation.
Public transportation is some of the best in the country in the major cities. San Francisco is especially unique with its trollies and swerving high hills. There is also great technology used in the cities roadways to help ease clustered commutes. The majority of the state is branched off from ‘The 5’, or Interstate 5 which extends north to south for virtually the entire state. For most of the residents outside of the city, trains and airplanes will not be sufficient enough and automobile use is recommended. With this privilege comes the responsibility of maintaining auto insurance for you, your vehicle, and those around you.
Average Auto Insurance Prices in California
From the traffic gridlocks of downtown Los Angeles to the scenic ocean side cruises of Route 101 toward San Jose and Oakland, prices for car insurance can vary based on where you live. Here are some numbers for the average California driver and then specifics based on major cities and other cities.
Current average annual auto insurance premiums in the state of California: $1,136 – $1,420
Insurance Rates In California Cities
* San Francisco: $1,740
* Oakland: $1,891
* Redding: $1,154
* Chico: $1,097
* San Jose: $1,494
* Bakersfield: $1,380
* Santa Maria: $1,025
* Los Angeles: $2,046
* Long Beach: $1,593
* Irvine: $1,324
* La Jolla: $1,221
* San Diego: $1,309
* Barstow: $1,284
* Fresno: $1,612
California Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
Knowing what the minimum requirements of auto insurance in California is half the battle of being legally sound while driving. There are also a more common approach to California Car Insurance coverage that goes above and beyond the minimums. If you can save some extra funds, some may find it beneficial to have the extra coverage depending on their lifestyle, vehicle, and residence.
Minimum State Requirements:
- Bodily Injury Liability – $15,000/$30,000
- Property Damage Liability – $5,000
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury – Not required
- Medical Payments – Not required
- Collision – Not required
- Comprehensive – Not required
Most Common Coverage In California:
- Bodily Injury Liability – $100,000/$300,000
- Property Damage Liability – $100,000
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury – $100,000/$300,000
- Medical Payments – $5,000
- Collision – 500 deductible
- Comprehensive – 250 deductible
- Minimum Entry Age – 15, 6 months then optimal 16
- Extended Learner Period – optimal provision of at least 6 months
- Parent Certification – optimal provision of 30 hours minimal
- Night Restriction – 9 or 10 p.m. is provision but not optimal
- Passenger Restriction – optimal provision on 1 non-family member
- Minimum age where restrictions are lifted – optimal at age 18
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in California
California, like many states, has penalties for those who decide to try and get away with driving without insurance documentation. These can be time consuming and costly, so it is best to be aware of the circumstances and why maintaining minimum requirements while operating your vehicle. Your vehicle can be subject to suspension if you fail to replace your liability insurance policy within 45 days once it has been cancelled, if the insurance provider does not provide electronic or evidence of registration card on a vehicle within 30 days or if not registered before, or if you submit false evidence of insurance. You could receive a traffic ticket if you are pulled over and cannot provide evidence of insurance, which will result in time in court. Your vehicle could be impounded and you could face fines. Also, if you get into an accident without insurance you are financially responsible for all damages. These are serious matters and best avoided by acquiring insurance before even considering operating your vehicle.
Getting Cheap Auto Insurance In California
forautoinsurancequotes.com is a great way to find the best coverage for the best price. Our agents are here to service you so insurance hunting is not so long and tiresome. We simply take the information you provide using our unique comparison tool and give you a range of premiums based on that information. By filling out the boxes provided on our website with some simple personal information, driving history, and your vehicle, we can build you great rates for auto insurance in California. Based on the information explained above, a few minutes to start saving and shopping is most definitely in one’s best interest. If there is more specifics needed after using the comparison tool, then agents can help you further. One thing is for sure, auto insurance is important and savings money is also important. forautoinsurancequotes.com makes the process simple and easy.